CALL TO ACTION: Be UnCommon! End Common Core in NC.

Conservatives across NC oppose Common Core. A broad coalition of groups and individuals are working together to stop Common Core in our state – Stop Common Core NC,  NC Federation of Republican Women, Tea Parties, Civitas, John Locke Foundation, elected officials and more.

 The NC grassroots have been asked to help our General Assembly end Common Core, and the timing is URGENT.

 

The NC General Assembly has formed a Common Core Study Committee, which must bring a recommendation to the GA by December of 2014.

 We need to help two things happen:

 1. Have the Study Committee bring their report by May 2014, during the  NCGA spring session, so the recommendations may be implemented before the next school year.

 2. Have the Committee recommend that the General Assembly pause Common Core.

 We must be engaged over the coming months like we have never been engaged before. We stopped the health care exchanges and Medicaid expansion in NC; stopping Common Core is going to require even more of us.

 There will be several steps along the way, to include:

-Contacting the Study Committee

-Contacting our own legislators

-Educating the public

-Letters to the editor

-Attending the Committee hearings (first one is mid-December).

 Today is Step One.

 We know it’s Thanksgiving week. We wouldn’t ask you to engage if it weren’t absolutely necessary. If you can make a few calls or send a few emails on Monday orTuesday and pass this information along to others, it will have a huge impact and we can come back to it again next week.

 ACTION:

 1. CONTACT THE STUDY COMMITTEE

Ask them where they stand on Common Core and let them know of your concerns.

SENATORS:

Dan Soucek (Chair): (919) 733-5742(919) 733-5742Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net 
Chad Barefoot: (919) 715-3036(919) 715-3036Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net 
Warren Daniel: (919) 715-7823(828) 433-0700Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net 
Martin Nesbitt: (919) 715-3001(828) 252-0490Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net  
Buck Newton: (919) 715-3030(919) 715-3030Buck.Newton@ncleg.net 
Earline Parmon: (919) 733-5620(336) 767-7395Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net 
Jerry Tillman: (919) 733-5870, (336) 431-5325, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net 
Tom Apodaca: 919) 733-5745, (828) 696-0574, Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net 

REPRESENTATIVES:
Bryan Holloway (Chair): 919-733-5609, 336-985-0826, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net 
Marcus Brandon: 919-733-5825, 336-987-3357, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net 
Tricia Cotham: 919-715-0706, 919-715-0706, Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net  
Jeffrey Elmore: 919-733-5935,Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net 
Craig Horn: 99-733-2406, 704-844-9960,Craig.Horn@ncleg.net  
Larry Pittman: 919-715-2009, 704-782-3528, Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net  
(Larry has already expressed opposition to CC, having introduced a bill to halt it.)
Michael Speciale: 919-733-5853, 252-635-5326, Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net  
Tim Moore: 919-733-4838, 704-739-1221,Tim.Moore@ncleg.net

 

2. CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATORS

Let them know of your concerns. You can find your legislators here.

Note – Our emails to our legislators have more impact when they are personal and individualized, rather than mass produced.

3. JOIN THE FACEBOOK EVENT PAGE for updates

4. JOIN THE STICKY NOTE CAMPAIGN onFriday, November 27

We believe we will stop Common Core in NC, and we are proud to stand alongside you all. More to come – Thank you!

RESOURCES

Stop Common Core NC – Great for information and updates. You can also find your elected officials, including school board members, at the site.

Handout on Common Core

John Locke Foundation’s 60 Questions on Common Core

View Your County’s Test Results:

1. Go to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction website.

2. Under “Highlights”, click on 2012-13 NC READY Accountability Report.

3. When the page in step 2 comes up, look over to the left side of page and click onState, School System (LEA) and School Performance 1997-2013.

4. At this point, you can click on any year but it’s recommended to click on 2012-2013 to get the most current information.

5. There will be a series of drop downs you have to navigate. The first one allows you to choose any School System in the state. For the second one, scroll down and click “LEA Results”. The third one lets you choose subject – “Math and Reading Composite” is recommended. The fourth one lets you choose grade – “Composite, Grade 3 through 8” is recommended. The last one lets you choose type of assessment – choosing “ALL” is recommended.

6. Click on “View Report” and see the results.

Be UnCommon.

End Common Core in North Carolina.

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Categories: Common Core, education | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: